3 and 4th day of water fasting, tuesday, September 29, 2009

3 and 4th day of water fasting

September 29, 2009

It’s easy after all, the first two days are the most demanding because it goes against all our habits and expectations. We fear being hungry, we think we should be hungry along with all the expected body signals. But in reality there is no fatigue or pain, only peace that we offer ourselves as if recovering after a long effort. All you have to do is not think about food. It is at this time that you can wonder whether you live to eat, or you eat to live.

As with coffee, food gave rhythm to my day, and the fast raises the question of the right to pleasure. Why deprive myself of the pleasure of eating ? Not even for a few days ? I answer. Is it so difficult ? Is it not a sign of being addicted to pleasure, when we cannot even choose, as a smoker defends his habitual cigarette? To eat to live is to eat by choosing the best foods and the best meals for optimal energy. To eat to live is to eat to achieve our personal goals, those which makes us happy and which gives meaning to our life. Food can give me pleasure, it’s true, but it will not make me happy!

On the other hand, a great pleasure which the fast brings me is no more grocery shopping and cooking! Finally, I no longer have to ask myself what meal to prepare and groceries to buy, peace! I can simply devote myself to my projects, which are preparing my lectures these days. I am lucky to have a job that allows free time for my artistic endeavors, but this too is a lifestyle choice, such as fasting. I could work more and make more money, but would I be happier? No. After all, isn’t happiness only a matter of choice?

‘Le voyage de l’espérance’, 2002
rive nord du canal de Lachine, Montréal

One of my art projects I did in 2002
You can see the results on my website:

http://maquaire.free.fr/esperance1.htm

So until next,   GGrrrrrrrrrrr    Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy

About Guy Giard

www.guygiard.com
This entry was posted in Jeûne à l'eau, Water Fasting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

