Which exercise program should I start????

Which exercise program should I start????

Ok everyone, Good Morning!!!  Sept 16, 2010

So I’ve made my Oath of Paleo Health to all of you, and so far it’s going very well. Since I finished my third water fast my weight has been stable, 165lbs, 75kg, which is excellent, because the body has a mind of it’s own. It can decide to downregulate or upregulate its metabolism, fool around with its hormones, retain or release more toxins or nutrients….. Which is why calories in calories out just don’t work, and why diets and water fasting for weight loss doesn’t cut it! It’s called Human homeostasis:

Human homeostasis refers to the body’s ability to physiologically regulate its inner environment to ensure its stability in response to fluctuations in the outside environment and the weather. The liver, the kidneys, and the brain (hypothalamus, the autonomic nervous system and the endocrine system) help maintain homeostasis. The liver is responsible for metabolizing toxic substances and maintaining carbohydrate metabolism. The kidneys are responsible for regulating blood water levels, re-absorption of substances into the blood, maintenance of salt and ion levels in the blood, regulation of blood pH, and excretion of urea and other wastes.  

From Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_homeostasis

So, unless you change your life your body will just take back what you forcibly took away from it, and then some!!!! Ok, enough preachy willy already!, That ain’t my Paleo Style!

Changes comes with a clear vison and specific objectives!

There, I’ve said it, so what do I want to do with my body? Optimal health for sure, nutrition is half the story, this post is now about the other half: Muscles for health and overall wellbeing.

To have a long and fruitfull life depends on your muscle mass.  First there is something I want to set straight once and for all: Mr. Muscle & Ms. Muscle that you see in competitions or on covers of magazine are the genetic exceptions of nature, like 7 feet tall people. Weight training will not build muscles as stretching will not make you any taller, this is absurd! You are born with a specific genetic make-up of certain types of muscles and their disposition in your body. What you will achieve is having more tonus and definition, and you will look sexy, men and women alike. So have no fear, you will not bulge out, you will become hot and voluptuous!

Another myth is cardio, cardio is great if you enjoy it, but for weightloss and muscle growth/definition it is next to nil (and even worse as it can create injury through repetitive impacts). Actually cardio/endurance eat muscles away, don’t look at me, look at marathoners or cyclists as opposed to sprinters who need burst of energy!

Ok, these are easy exemples, but the basics are there, cardio is not the essential element, it’s the icing on the lowcarb cake. If you enjoy it, then do it carefully, personnaly I use a rebounder (the only piece of equipment I ever bought, except great Cross Trainer Shoes). More on the rebounder on another post.

At most 30 minutes 3 times per week!

At most that’s what you need, and before my last water fast I was doing 20 minutes once a week. This is what it looked like (this exercise session was done while water fasting, to go against the idea that WF makes you weak) Anyway sometime I feel I have no shame, it’s pretty funny….

So to close this off, there are many programs but basically they all center on one main concept: systematic muscle overload to create microtears and promote growth. Some focus on intensity, others on speed, some on repetition, and some on timing of nutrients. None focus on cardio, some totally discourages it, none isolate muscles and they all focus on overall body motion/compound exercises (http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/strengthtraining/a/compound_ex.htm).

So what are my choices so far? Well here is a list of what I am going through, but first I have to mention Jorge Cruise because it is with his method that I lost my first 40 pounds in 2003. All I can say is thanks Jorge!!!!!!!

The 20 minutes video routine you saw was inspired by these 3 EXCELLENT  books in their own rights. I highly praise them and recommend them!

And these are the books I’m presently researching:

The Eades’s have a great section on Paleo style motion/imagery/exercise

And this one is great for my whole family!! Thans Fredrick for thinking about the little ones!

So…………

So where does this leave me? Well I can share with you my explorations, and if you have any experience with any of these books/program I’d love to hear your opinions about it!!

And oh yes, how can I forget, if I can get my hands on a copy of Robb’s book I think I would be more conclusive about all of this…..

So until next,   GGrrrrrrrrrrr    Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy

About Guy Giard

www.guygiard.com
This entry was posted in Articles, Paleo Exercises and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Which exercise program should I start????

  1. Stephen says:

    For God’s sake, Guy! Where do you find time to do this? I’ve gotta tell you, though, This is absoulutely brilliant. In my opinion based on hundreds of hours of reading books, blogs, websites, studies, listening to podcasts, and viewing videos the stuff you’ve written here is right on. Even one of my teachers at school said the same thing you did about the proportion of muscle fiber that we have is genetic and can be changed only very little, if you don’t have the genetics you are not going to get really big and strong when you body build. You can only train to reach your own individual, maximum potential and then can go no further. Everything else – right on, again, brilliant!

  2. JP says:

    Nice post overall but I think it is biased (and I don’t mean this in a bad way).

    1. You can’t compare a sprinter or a marathoner. Both train for different purpose and the level of muscle mass reflects that.
    2. 30 mins x3 times a week is a good start but it’s not optimal for everyone. You can’t train an athlete this way, for example.
    3. There is not such things as the right template. They are a bunch of bad ones, a bunch of good ones. As long as you don’t focus on isolation moves (unless you have a purpose for that…such as rehabing) and use machines (you need to work the stabilization muscles to be as strong as you look), you would be fine.

    Keep up the good work, I have been enjoying your website.

    JP

    • Hello JP, Thanks for the comments, they are appreciated.

      I agree, my point of view is directed to a specific type of body composition, I think mainly for weightloss and general body maintenance. I should find a way to point this out.

      It is definitively not aimed at the athlete, but would consider it as a stepping stone for starting a program helping to move away from a sedentary person towards, if they get bitten by the performance bug, a more active life.

      We both agree, being learned, wise and intelligent about nutrition and the body is the way to go. The information is out there, finding the right ressources is time consuming but well rewarding! Thanks for your support!

      Paleo Guy

Leave a Reply

