Oops!…I Did It Again, HIIT ME!

Oops!…I Did It Again

High Intensisty Interval Training (HIIT)

September 28 2010

No, it’s not Britney Spears but Guy the Healthy Paleo Guy (maybe not as cute but I’m working on it!!!). I mean you have to admit it, many of these singers must be in dang pretty good physical shape for all these moves. (and having a ‘cut’ body, without being sexist here!). So how did they get this way?

Well one way is what they call: High Intensisty Interval Training.

HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) is a technique that involves alternating between short intense bursts of exertion periods and periods of recovery. It is cardio performed at such an intense level that your body will spend the rest of the day expending energy to recover. This is commonly referred to as EPOC (excess post-exercise oxygen consumption) and it means that you consume a great deal more oxygen recovering from the exercise bout than you would have if you’d just done a steady-state workout.

This means that you will be burning up to nine times more fat while sitting on the couch later that night than you would have if you’d spent an hour on the treadmill at a moderate pace. Studies show that interval training has many advantages, including: more total calories burned during workouts, more burned fat calories, increased motivation , increased endurance , increased metabolism. Additionally, fat burning continues for over 3 hours after the interval training ends.

Here’s what it looks like when your favorite Paleo Guy is doing it (but it’s only a 3 minutes excerpts from the whole session). My resting heart rate before starting was 80, and after the 4th repetition it was 160.

There are 2 workouts to alternate:

A- 5min warm-up, 30sec sprint/90sec recovery x 4, 5min cool down
B- 5min warm-up, 60sec sprint/180sec recovery x 3, 5min cool down

The TNT program:

So HIIT is optional, but it will improve my overall conditioning level (says so in the book!)
So here’s what I am actually doing:

Monday:       Training routine A
Tuesday:                HIIT A
Wednesday: Training routine B
Thursday :            HIIT B
Friday:          Training routine A

And on the weekend I train with my daughter doing the warm-up routine with her. Who knows maybe my lovely wife will join along!

Tomorow last video for this month! I am going to show you excerpts of the Training routine B which I am doing as soon as I finish this post. The next videos will be at the end of the 4 weeks A period so hopefully you’ll see that I’ve improved on the forms (and haven’t injured myself!!!) Thanks for all your support, it is my Oath and I owe it to you!!

PS: Friday the Paleo Challenge starts! No grains, no legumes and no dairy for the whole month while in training!!! Dat is Spannend (more Dutch for you, meaning How Thrilling!) The challenge is here: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Make-October-the-30-Days-for-your-Health-Paleo-Challenge-Month/128012517249982

So until next,   GGrrrrrrrrrrr    Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy

About Guy Giard

www.guygiard.com
This entry was posted in Articles, Paleo Exercises, TNT Exercixes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oops!…I Did It Again, HIIT ME!

  1. Pingback: My 5 Weeks TNT BOOM! Program! | Guythehealthypaleoguy's Blog

Leave a Reply

