My 5 Weeks TNT BOOM! Program!

My 5 Weeks TNT BOOM! Program!

Saturday October 2, 2010

BOOM, I have started! Not only my “Make October the “30 Days for your Health” Paleo Challenge Month” but my TNT exercise program!

The exercise program I’m doing will extend all the way to Christmas, that’s my official culmination for this first stage. In the New Year I will be able to post new before and after pictures! From overfat to skinny to ‘hey, what a nice bod!’  Still I need your support, I’ve done the first week, now there is 4 more weeks to go for the first phase A of the TNT program. (I did an extra week just for starters). I’ve posted some videos, to inspire those who haven’t started yet, and so those who are quite advanced can help me out by telling me where I can improve my forms! So genieten! (more Dutch, meaning: Enjoy!)

The ‘Phase 1’ of the TNT program:

The program offers 2 workouts: the ‘Get Back in Shape Workout’ for the first 12 weeks, and then an ‘Advanced Workout’ for another 12 weeks. So If all goes well I should do the advanced one in January 2011, but let’s get back to business for now!

The Phase 1 of ‘Getting Back in Shape’ entails alternating 2 workouts: A and B. You always interspace the workouts with a resting day. If you want you can do some complementary Cardio/Aerobics on those days (or MetCon as I finally figured out what Robb meant!). Workout A or B always start with a warm-up first, so here goes!

1- The warm-up:

1 set of 10 repetitions of each exercise:

1- Jumping Jacks
2- Arm Circles
3- Lunges
4- Body-weight Squats
5- Hip Extensions
6- Lying Straight-leg raises
7- Pushup Plus
8- Thoracic Rotations
9- Fire Hydrant in-out
10-Groiners

Once done, you can start the workout. In a regular week you might then do: monday A – wednesday B – friday A. The week after you would continue the progression with monday B – wednesday A – friday B and so on…. (One last note, you’ll notice that halfway through the program the number of sets and lenght of rests changes)

2- Workout A

And this is what it looks like (8 minutes excerpt). It’s a new version taking into account the commentaries from the different forum on which I asked for advice. I am more conscientious of keeping good form now! Thanks!!!!

3- Workout B

I did this one this morning (13 minutes excerpt):

4- Cardio /MetCon: TABATA

For my in-between days I like to do some HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) as I posted earlier (see here). But on a suggestion of a forum friend who is into Crossfit I tried something called The TABATA Method. So what is the Tabata Method?

The Tabata method involves performing 8 – 10 sets of 20 seconds very high intensity exercise separated with 10 second recovery periods giving a total training time = 4 – 5 minutes. The caveat of the Tabata Method is that all the intervals have to be done at 100% intensity – an absolute flat out effort. You have to strive to perform as much work in each 20 second interval as possible and try to maintain that work rate for the 8 – 10 sets.

Here’s my personal Tabata session:

There, if I can do it anybody can do it!!!!! I hope you try it or give it some thought! In a months time I will post new videos, hopefully showing some improvements. I will also being stepping up to the ‘Phase 2’ of the program with a series of more advanced exercises! Wish me well!!!!!!

(If you want to know more about the TNT program visit you can this post)

So until next,   GGrrrrrrrrrrr    Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy

 

About Guy Giard

www.guygiard.com
This entry was posted in Articles, TNT Exercixes, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

