The Major cause of Obesity

The Major cause of Obesity

January 11, 2011

Wow, with a title like this you’d expect a revelation of some sorts, a one all mother of all answers!!! Well in a way you might get one, or not, because you already know the answer.

Goals

That’s it, one word. You can read all the books, see all the documentaries and lectures, even have the best of friends in the world with the best advice or knowledge, if you don’t have a goal, you’re done.

You might try to eat Vegan, Vegetarian, Low-Carb, Paleo, Zone or what not, you won’t stick to it unless you have a goal that inspires you as each day you will be challenged by media, family and even friends. You can’t even do your groceries in peace, take the metro or enter a conveniance store without being assaulted by chocolate bars, muffins or slushies.

What’s in a goal?

A goal is a raison d’être (had to put some french in here) that gives meaning to your actions. As they say you can go through the motion without having any belief in what you are doing (Do as I say, not as I do!). But a goal is an inspiration, something to exist in the present moment. For example my raison d’être is to be healthy, not to lose weight! I pass up the bread and the cookies because of my goal, not because they are unhealthy or fattening.

Give up Willpower!

Willpower is the perfect example of Do as I say, not as I do! You keep telling yourself don’t do this, don’t do that, but your being keeps wanting to do otherwise. This is normal and to be expected because you haven’t consciously set your goal. You’re splitted apart down the middle, and you are not respecting yourself. What’s to do but to defy this overbearing Willpower, to revolt and have that cookie, and some more…

Results

Want it or not, you always get results, and those results are the sum of your goals. When I decided to stop smoking years ago, I didn’t stop because it was bad. I stopped because I wanted to be healthy. When I started to eat vegan I wanted healthy foods, and today it is not a contradiction to eat Paleo style because my goal is just the same: health.

As my 50th birthday was coming, I decided that I wanted to give myself health as a gift, it became my purposeful goal, my consciously aware goal. From then on I’ve made many lifechanging decisions. Not because somebody told me, not because I had to, but because I wanted to, it became MY goal. I didn’t Willed myself to health, I started to be healthy in the here and now, and the rest, as they say, became history.

So how do I do it?

First of all give up Willpower. Second, wherever you are right now, whatever you are living and experiencing right now are the results of your past goal, albeit unconscious, but still the result of your old goal. Third decide what YOU want now, today, be precise and specific. Fourth, live your goal. That’s it.

My personal goal is to be healthy, which means to live a long life using my body, my muscles, my organs and my brain. My aim is to play with my granchildren. So in the here and now I chose the best foods for this goal. Is whatever I’m putting in my mouth right now bringing me closer to my goal? Is it promoting better health or the reverse, enhindering my health?

There you go, a goal is always positive, not something you don’t want, but something you want,  something you desire and you can pratice right away, in the present moment. The long term effect I can only project according to the research I follow, but everyday the effects I can measure by being aware of my body: What’s my level of energy? How is my heart beating? Do I feel warm or cold? Relaxed or tensed? What is the regularity and quality of my stools?

If you do have issues with your weight, then your goal is simply not your health, whatever you might be telling yourself. Most likely it has to do with pleasure or pleasing, yourself or others. Yes it is that simple, just listen to yourself and you will find out what your goals are!

A goal can only manifest itself in the here and now, so choose your goal consciously, and obesity will be something of the past!

So until next, Love you all     GGrrrrrrrrrrr    Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy

About Guy Giard

www.guygiard.com
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Major cause of Obesity

  1. Pingback: The Major cause of Obesity | Paleo Digest

Leave a Reply

