Getting to know you…

Getting to know you…

April 25, 2011

Yep! Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy wasn’t always so, it’s a long process. As I wrote recently going Paleo meant looking for your roots, and to give them full appreciation. So GTHPG used to be Guy The Exhibiting Multimedia Artist. I studied visual arts at College, then University, and later Post-Graduate at the Rijksademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. So officially I’ve never diverged from my calling. Since 1977, nearly 35 years ago, I’ve been practicing my craft.

Painting, sculpture, drawing, ceramics, photography, I’ve touched most of the traditional techniques. These last years I’ve naturally grown into the more contemporary mediums such as installation, video and performance. Since the beginning I’ve being studying the human condition, painting portraits of homeless people and other images rooted in social criticism.

How time flies…

In 1991-1992, in a series of installations entitled “The Family Show I-IV” (produced in Regina, Windsor, Peterborough and Montreal), I questioned the relationships that binds family life. My interest lay in the influence of the family for socialization and the forming our sense of individuality.

In 1993, in “De l’autre côté d’un pont,” I looked at the alienation of individuals who have suffered sexual abuse, political oppression, exile, or deprivation of ancestral lands. These experiences forces you on a quest for identity and leads to the creation of new social bonds that often transcend cultures and generations.

In 1999, in “Le Lavoir,” I explored the links between the individual and his community.

In 2002  “Angélique 1734” was a photo and text installation on the lives of African and Native slaves in Quebec in the 17th and 18th centuries. (View it here). In 2004, I produced 12 videos: “Angélique 1734 – Haïti 2004: l’histoire des Maîtres.” where I interviewed researchers and members of Montreal’s Haitian community to learn how they view their country’s history (the year 2004 being the bicentennial of Haitian independence).

The Family Show I-IV

So this first art posting will focus on this series, and luckily for you all you have to do is sit down and watch!!! No more reading since a few years ago I produced documentary DVD’s of the whole experience, in french and english. There’s 5 in all, the first one gives an overview of the exhibitions, and then you can get more details on each individual installations. Although I often use humour in my work, some of the images can be disturbing, viewer discretion, as they say, is advised.

By the way an ‘art installation’ is a bit like theater scenography, where you set up a stage with lights and sounds. There are no actors or timeframe presentations, the visitors walks in the artwork as if you could enter a painting. Enough said, please enjoy.

General Overview of the 4 exhibitions:

.

In Regina, at Neutral ground, Family Show I

.

In Windsor, at Artspace, Family Show II

.

In Peterborough,  at Artcite, Family Show III

.

In Montréal, at Dare-Dare, Family Show IV

.

Today being Easter, I guess you could say this is kind of my personal renaissance!

So until next,   GGrrrrrrrrrrr    Guy The Healthy Paleo Guy

About Guy Giard

www.guygiard.com
This entry was posted in Art, Articles, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting to know you…

  1. Chris McKay says:

    Hi Paleo Guy,

    I am a fellow Montrealer and Paleo enthusiast.

    I know this is not related to this post specifically, so I hope you will excuse the intrusion, but I needed to contact you and your Paleo freinds.

    I know you are aware of MovNat from one of your posts (https://guythehealthypaleoguy.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/the-new-robb-wolfs-book-and-tv-interview/)… I have been practicing MovNat for 2.5 years and have trained with Erwan and his team twice at the 5 day workshops.

    For the first time, they are coming to Montreal (Sept 3 and 4) and I said I would help get the word out to the Paleo community in Montreal. The details are on MovNat.com (with the Montreal details on http://movnat.com/train-with-us/one-day-2-day-workshop/schedule-and-booking/).

    I look forward to meeting other Paleo health and fitness enthusiasts there and maybe getting a Paleo fitness group together around the MovNat training (it is truly rewarding).

    Let me know what you think.

    Sincerely,

    Chris McKay

Leave a Reply

